Goodbye, So Long, The Road Calls Me Dear

“Tonight, as I walked alongside the evening sun, the road fell away, and the light revealed more land, and the land invited me to leave all else behind, like dust, scattered amongst the weeds. So I did. And it was suddenly beautifully effortless to breathe.”
Victoria Erickson

For some this may be an early goodbye, for some it may be late. It is a change in direction, nonetheless. It is a time of endings and of new beginnings. Friends and family are moving far away… and some are not so far away. Some are starting families. Some have new careers. Some are traveling the countryside. Some are traveling the world. We are living on our terms, building our dreams, and taking in the world a day at a time. What this boils down to is change, BIG CHANGE.

It has been coming for some time now. One change at a time until a culminating of many people shifting at once. Some of the change I took in stride, and some of it broke my heart. I cried, struggled, said it was okay, did nothing, buried my head in the sand, felt a little peace, dug my heels in, then finally let go. I didn’t realize that I was holding on so tight until I let go… And it was suddenly beautifully effortless to breathe.

These relationships we have built together will not go away. The struggles we’ve faced together have strengthened us and helped us to grow. The joy we’ve shared has bonded our souls. We have flourished as we have learned from one another. United, we are amazing, but it’s time to grow. It’s time for change. It’s time for saying goodbye. We’ll meet again and it will be beautiful and right and better than what we have now. Until then:

Wishing you always…
Walls for the wind,
A roof for the rain,
And tea beside the fire.
Laughter to cheer you,
Those you love near you,
And all that your heart may desire.

With love,

Becca

Just Listen: Old Shoes & Picture Postcards, Tom Waits

2 thoughts on “Goodbye, So Long, The Road Calls Me Dear

  1. What a perfect message. The picture, the poem, your words &the music, so we’ll put together to create a message so touching. I love you Becca! You’re perfect.❤️

    • Took me awhile, but finally the pieces fell into place. Inspiration can come from so many different places. Thank you for always believing in me.

Leave a Reply

