Thanksgiving at My House

All of the holidays have been different since my parents divorced five years ago. They were married for the first 26 years of my life, so our family traditions had been set for quite some time when they split. It took me a long time to acknowledge that family gatherings would never be the same. Still, when I think of it, it makes me very sad. There’s no way around it though. Our family is forever changed. We’re slowly developing new traditions, adapting old ones, and those of the kids who are married have been able to carry on some tradition with their own families.

I prepared my first full Thanksgiving meal all by myself this year. I definitely should have taken more pictures to commemorate! I only took three:

mmm... cranberries!
See, I cook!
Whip cream swirls!
Straight outta Candy Land!
Homemade and delicious!
My favorite!

I’m pretty proud of the way things turned out! 🙂 I cooked for six people: My grandparents, my dad, two of my brothers and myself. We had traditional dishes, a few specific to our family traditions, and some that I just wanted to try.

  • Shrimp with Cocktail Sauce
  • Black Olives
  • Cheese Stuffed Celery
  • Green Jello Salad
  • Turkey
  • Grandma’s Stuffing
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Gravy
  • Cranberry Sauce
  • Praline Yams
  • Green Beans
  • Carrots
  • Banana Cream Pie
  • Pumpkin Pie
  • Cheesecake with Strawberry Topping
  • Egg Nogg with 7Up
  • Sparkling Cranberry, Apple and Pear Juice

I cooked for years with my mom at a wedding reception center owned by my aunt and uncle. I’m sure that I owe the success of this year’s Thanksgiving dinner to that experience. My mom truly is a chef, and wonderful cook.

Duncan and Annie invited my dad and me over for breakfast on Thanksgiving. Summer always loves to play with my phone. (I don’t blame her, it’s a really cool phone!)  She’s a good little photographer. Here’s a picture she took of me with a blur of Mason in the corner- he doesn’t hold still for long.

Happy Thanksgiving!

So, Thanksgiving this year turned out to be truly wonderful. I am sincerely thankful for my loving family and  my thoughtful and sincere friends. I’m thankful for the freedom and peace that I enjoy as a citizen of the United States of America. I’m thankful that I have found a job that I love, working with people who I love and doing work that is truly fulfilling. I’m thankful for the protection and shelter that I have living in a home with family. I love coming home to a warm and comfortable bed after a long day out and about. I’m thankful for my health and a body that works for me almost seamlessly day in and day out. I’m thankful for my dependable car and that I’m able to drive it pretty much anywhere I’d like to go. I have so many things to be thankful for – a truly beautiful life.  

Happy Thanksgiving! With love, Becca

Leave a Reply

