Learning to love little ol' me.

I haven’t always struggled with loving myself for who I am. I haven’t always struggled to be happy. I am blessed in many ways, but somehow along the way, I’ve forgotten the value of me.

As the holidays come, and life goes on, I find myself evaluating just who and where I am. There are times in my life when I’ve discounted my worth, lost faith in myself, and believed the people who said that I just wasn’t good enough. I resolve to make a conscious effort to banish these thoughts and beliefs from my mind. I know… I KNOW that none of them are true or real.

I’m learning and remembering that I’m able to acheive peace and happiness through the power of my own thoughts- my own beautiful mind. I know that I can do the things that I desire to do, and I will.

In the past I’ve admired people who boldly declared their intentions and goals for the whole world to hear. I was afraid that if I did, I’d be placing my failures on display if I didn’t succeed. I never considered my goals to be worthy of declaration. In a way, I was paving the path to my own failure because doubt clouded my ability and determination to succeed. As I sit and think today, I’m not afraid at all. I consider it a blessing and a wonderful opportunity to share myself right here, to put into words my aspirations for life and to record my thoughts along the way.

So, as a tribute to myself and the life I am building, here’s my list:

  • I will be a Doctor of Psychology
  • I will have a successful writing career
  • I will be financially secure
  • I will have a loving family- a spouse and children of my own
  • I will have a home of my own where visitors are welcome, comfortable, and loved
  • I will recognize each step of my journey for what it is worth
  • I will appreciate those I come into contact with
  • I will appreciate and love myself
  • I will be joyful

I’m worthy of it all. Loving me. Yes, now I consider myself edified on the subject!

6 thoughts on “Learning to love little ol' me.

  1. Your words of inner wisdom come rushing off of the page ms. Wonder Woman! I identify with so much of what you wrote it’s not even funny! For many years of my life I struggled against the outer circumstances of life, wanting so desperately to change the dynamics of my life. It took a long time before I began to understand that what occurs outside of me is a direct result of what is occurring within me through my thoughts and feelings. When i finally got sick of struggling to survive through the daily humdrum existence which was my life, I began to go within myself to redefine the way that I thought and felt in order to achieve the life that I wanted to live and thrive within. I feel very lucky and blessed that I had this opportunity too do this! Keep doing what your doing and in no time you will be scratching off many of those intentions on your list and adding all the new ones that come to you!

  2. Mighty Morgan! I actually thought of you a couple times while writing this post. You’ve been a wonderful example to me. I specifically remember reading your goals and admiring you for your strength. Through your blogging I’ve witnessed the great changes in your life. I watched as your goals were fulfilled. You are part of the reason that I know I can do this!

  3. # I will be financially secure
    # I will have a loving family- a spouse and children of my own
    # I will have a home of my own where visitors are welcome, comfortable, and loved
    # I will recognize each step of my journey for what it is worth
    # I will appreciate those I come into contact with
    # I will appreciate and love myself
    # I will be joyful

    I already had all of these and they were stolen from me. With the exception of my little girl, no one is that brave to try that. But you have to stay focused no matter what you do. People will do their best to make sure that you do not succeed. They will pretend that they are on you side, only to laugh when you fail. That is when you have to say you do not give a rats tail about what others think. Stand up for you and you alone. Then when you are financially secure, you will have the edge on life. Money is power, whether people like to admit it or not.
    No one is going to drag me around on the ground anymore, you can count on that. I am Superman.

  4. Hey Dwayne. Good to see you here! There are a few things on that list that no one can take from you. I’m happy that you’re Superman! I know you will be successfull in your desires.

  5. Hi Becca! The one idea that has helped me more than anything else is to simply control what I think about. I no longer allow myself to dwell on negativity. When I suffer hardship, loss or rejection, I mourn and cry – but then move forward. I don’t forget, but instead accept.

    Also, I welcome failure with open arms and know it is a necessity for growth. Great post, and it’s wonderful to see you thinking this way. No matter what happens in life, we can either choose to move forward and grow, or wilt like a dying flower. It is all up to us.

    Have a fantastic day!!! 🙂

  6. I agree with you Bobby! It takes time, but little by little, I’m seeing how I’m able to change the way I think and the way I react.
    I once wrote these thoughts down, and I draw strength from the wisdom I didn’t realize I had: “Don’t cling to your past or try to suppress it, but remember it for what it is. Remember the good times with fondness, the bad with sorrow, and take strength from your experiences.”

Leave a Reply

