The Road of Life…

Abandoned Car

I’m all about living life with no regrets. It’s hard when life takes you down a path you didn’t expect to go down. I compare my feelings about these unplanned detours to a time when I was younger- I always found myself wishing I was a year older. When I was 6 I couldn’t wait to be 7, when I was 7 couldn’t wait to be 8, and then I realized that if I wasn’t enjoying the age that I was, it was like I was missing out on a year of my life. From then on I’ve tried to enjoy each age, each moment, and each phase in my life for what it is. I’m still really bad at enjoying the hard stuff, but hey- it’s part of my life. I guess that’s where the phrase “roll with the punches” comes in.

My life has rarely taken me down the road I expected to be on. Sometimes I feel like it’s my fault that I’m not where I thought I should be. Then I think back… and really, I have very few regrets. Although I’m nowhere near where I thought I’d be by now, I’ve learned a lot and met people who have changed my life forever. If I hadn’t taken such an unexpected road, I wouldn’t be the person I am today. A few years ago, I adopted the saying, “An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.” by G. K. Chesterton . I’ve tried to remember that when life presents me with surprises.

For my job, I take inbound Roadside Assistance calls. People call me and they’re generally a little grumpy and upset because something happened to their rental car that threw a wrench in their plans. The interesting part about all this is… I like it! I like talking to people all over the US and Canada and I like the challenge of making a bad situation better. I like how by the end of the call I have usually seen a turn around in the whole demeanor of the person I’m talking to. It’s a challenging and sometimes stressful job, but to sum things up, it’s a perfect fit for me right now, and ironically fits right in with my thoughts today. The sad part is, they’re closing down the Roadside department in Salt Lake, so I won’t be doing it much longer. It’s just another fork in the road of my life. I look forward to whatever comes next.

“Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We have only today. Let us begin.” 
– Mother Theresa 

Leave a Reply

