Music to My Ears

While driving around in my car last night, I started thinking about the soundtrack to my life and what it would be like if I had one. Music has a way of touching my soul and helping to solidify truths in my life. These thoughts fit perfectly with a challenge I was given by my sister Wonder of W for Wonder. To honor my thoughts, my friend, and the wonderful songs that have helped me through life, I give you my list- the soundtrack of my life:

  • We’ll Sing in the Sunshine, Helen Ready
  • If We Hold on Together, Diana Ross
  • You’ve Got a Friend, Carol King
  • A Teenager in Love, Dion and the Belmonts
  • I Wanna Hold Your Hand, The Beatles
  • Self Esteem, Offspring
  • All You Need is Love, The Beatles
  • Bridge Over Troubled Water, Simon & Garfunkel
  • A World Without Love , Peter & Gordon
  • Yesterday, The Beatles
  • Kiss Off, Violent Femmes
  • Turn! Turn! Turn!, The Byrds
  • Let It Be, The Beatles
  • Butterfly, Weezer
  • Not What You See, Savatage
  • Good Riddance, Green Day
  • Stand By Me, Pennywise
  • We’re Not Gonna Take It, Twisted Sister
  • Bob, NOFX
  • Why Bother, Weezer
  • What a Wonderful World, Louis Armstrong
  • You’re Just Too Good to be True, Frankie Valli
  • On the Sunny Side of the Street, Steve Tyrell
  • It’s a Great Day to Be Alive, Travis Tritt
  • Where the Green Grass Grows, Tim McGraw
  • Ain’t to Proud to Beg, The Temptatioins
  • Lounge, Modest Mouse
  • Traffic In the Sky, Jack Johnson
  • Butterfly, Mason Jennings
  • No Other Way, Jack Johnson
  • Keepin’ it Real, Mason Jennings
  • Humble Me, Nora Jones
  • Lost Cause, Beck
  • Under the Bridge, Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • Reason to Believe, Amy Mann & Michael Penn
  • Standing Outside the Fire, Garth Brooks
  • Be Here Now, Mason Jennings
  • Your Biggest Fan, Voxtrot

Long list huh? I’m sure I’ve left out some, and if I explained each one listed, I’d be writing my life’s history here. I just don’t have time for that today. 😉 It was interesting for me to just read down the list and glean history from it.

This is a meme, and since I’m a rebel, I didn’t quite stick to the rules. It was started by Loz here: Sunrays and Saturdays- An Ordinary Life.Tag yourself if you’re up to the challenge. I’ll link to you in this post if you let me know you’re participating. Thank’s Loz and Wonder for making me think!

7 thoughts on “Music to My Ears

  1. I’ve always found “Standing Outside The Fire” poignant for me, that and “Two Pina Coladas”, lol.

  2. Nice song set! If you saw the variety of music I listen to toy’d probably think I was schizophrenic! Did you know: I think google should pay all good bloogers (even not good but consistent) and bloglog and blogcat can chip in! We all keep em rolling in millions for free while 5% of all bloggers make a living. They should pay us all $250.00 a week. I mean all of us and having said that, they wouldn’t even notice it. If I owned yahoo or some big power player I would pay everyone. I guess when some rich guy has 35 million and loses 2 million, he is hurting.

  3. Wonder& Loz: Thank YOU!Sera: I saw Violent Femmes in concert, they are great!!!Sabrina: You found a song I forgot!Bobby: AMEN!!(about getting paid to blog) How do we get it to actually happen though?

Leave a Reply

