Crumble Town

Each of these pictures were taken on the same street all within 11 city blocks. The unique thing about Salt Lake City is the amazing contrast between the old and the new. There are the remodeled, renovated, cutting edge and traditional all mixed in with the crumbledown of yesterday.

Over these past few months, I’ve found myself looking for the oldest, most rundown looking buildings in town. I would love to purchase one of these buildings and restore it to it’s original beauty. At the same time I love that I can see where stairs and whole floors used to exist on the side of a building- so much character, so much history.









I had a lot of fun stopping off at the side of the road and doing a little exploring. It’s my town- has been all my life, but there are so many nooks and crannies that I’ve never even seen before. I’m very interested in the little details, the things that people forget over time. Next on my list is finding the stories behind all of these buildings- that’s what brings them to life again.Related Post: Building History

15 thoughts on “Crumble Town

  1. That would be a great film set for a movie! Could you imagine spending the night in one of those buildings during a thunder storm? 🙂

  2. Bobby- I have a feeling I wouldn’t get much sleep if I were to try to spend the night in one of those buildings- even if the weather was nice. It would still be a great adventure though. Anyone up for a “sleep”over??Thanks kellypea!

  3. i was gonna say wat bobby revell said: great film set or music video set. how long did it take u to snap all those pics?

  4. My camera is my camera phone, so it’s point and click for me. It took me probably 3 hours… not all pictures are included here. Look for more in the future!!

  5. Obviously the telephone box isn’t a functioning one, but I have no idea what it is doing here… or how it got here for that matter.

  6. Very nice photos. They remind me of the older sections of Victoria. I haven’t been on a photoshoot in a while but love going on one and letting my intuition giude me. Are you an intuitive photographer or do you plan your shots?

  7. Thanks Leon! I’d love to go to Victoria. I’m definitely an intuitive photographer- never have been one to plan out my explorations with photography.

  8. Awesome pictures!! I love little details like that too, gives a town character! Unfortunatly, in so many places, these old buildings are being torn down and turned into strip malls or apartment complexes. Thanks for sharing them.

  9. Some of those look familiar; I think I have been to some of those areas. I have lived here in the valley since 1955, so some of those were probably being used when I was a kid.

  10. The pictures remind of the old part of my city where history can be sensed in the patterns of the moss on the walls….i am going to upload those photos on my blog pretty soon….nice photos…

  11. Great pics, WW! Love the phone booth – it must surely be a coincidence that it’s in Utah. Just kidding. I don’t believe in coincidences, either. It’s just there coz it’s there.What amazes me is that nobody’s stolen it yet: they’re worth some good money!This is my first visit to your blog. Love it! You could read about something called CPA on my blog. That’s us!

Leave a Reply

