gramer and speling airs

Lately I’ve bin thinkin that the world of writting is heded down heel It most nearly always happins on a day 2 day bases. I once seen an special on tv about enbracing cultrul difrences. Is the way you spel a word; or write a sentince part of culchur? I ain’t tryin to segrigate any pacific race or group… but do ya understand what I’m atempting to archiculate? I went to the corner store to aks sumbudy, but I almosed got beat down cuz they didn’t get the point. Suposibly, i’m a spigot or sumthin. I thus verly found out about the sensativity of the subject at that there point in time. Another thing: wut about these here kids with them cell phones they cary around. Their always twidlin’ they’re thumbs an I sware they ain’t usin’ no proper english when them’s sendin’ messages. all thees ebriviashuns and such. For real though! spel check can help with sum things… but other’s it missus. For ex. when a word sounds the same but can bee speled more than one way. its jest not an accrate resourse.It alway’s seems to be sunthin. I jest writ this to sea whut others think about the tropic. I say we, need to stop bein so damn laxidaisacl and ignernt about thins and take back the lanquage we was raised with. That the british fought to keep america english. Is you with me? or is you aint?
12 thoughts on “gramer and speling airs

  1. I’m of two minds about this. As much as I love and respect the English language, I understand that language is a fluid and ever changing thing.When you look at something like Dante’s inferno, which was written in what was considered “common” language in a time when Latin was the norm for literature, it makes me wonder what the line between casual spoken language and the written word is.I don’t write in numbers and abbreviations, but on some level it is exciting to think about language mutating. I mean, we don’t write in Elizabethan English, even though that was once the norm for the written word. As much as I find Shakespeare beautiful, I find Nabakov even more beautiful because it is in my language.Right now “chat speek” or what ever you want to call it is the domain of the young, but who knows when it will slip into art in some beautiful way.This is already too long, so I won’t get into my whole theory about this all being a “dialect” of the internet, hence why fight to keep the denizens of the web American?

  2. Hi there it’s going to be more like a post in post rather than a comment but still, it’s on-topic and hilarious. Have fun.The European Commission has just announced an agreement wherebyEnglish will be the official language of the European Union rather than German, which was the other possibility.As part of the negotiations, the British Government conceded thatEnglish spelling had some room for improvement and has accepted a5-year phase-in plan that would become known as “Euro-English”. In the first year, “s” will replace the soft “c”. Sertainly, this willmake the sivil servants jump with joy. The hard “c” will be dropped infavour of “k”. This should klear up konfusion, and keyboards kan have one less letter.There will be growing publik enthusiasm in the sekond year when thetroublesome “ph” will be replaced with “f”. This will make words likefotograf 20% shorter.In the 3rd year, publik akseptanse of the new spelling kan be expekted to reach the stage where more komplikated changes are possible.Governments will enkourage the removal of double letters which havealways ben a deterent to akurate speling. Also, al wil agre that thehoribl mes of the silent “e” in the languag is disgrasful and it should go away.By the 4th yer, people wil be reseptiv to steps such as replasing “th”with “z” and “w” with “v”. During ze fifz yer, ze unesesary “o” kan bedropd from vords kontaining “ou” and after ziz fifz yer, ve vil hav areil sensibl riten styl. Zer vil be no mor trubl or difikultis andevrivun vil find it ezi tu understand ech oza. Ze drem of a unitedurop vil finali kum tru.Und efter ze fifz yer, ve vil al be speking German like zey vunted inze forst plas.If zis mad you smil, pleas pas on to oza pepl..

  3. Hey this reminds me of something I read recently, about how in the next generation, the offspring of our present-day youth will have superior thumb abilities. Personally, I think kids these days already posess such powers. I always call my nephew “superthumb” when we play xbox.Oh and I just wanna say how depressing it is to find out that “orientated” and “supposably” are listed in various new editions of our English dictionaries.Thanks for this post, WW! I likes yer blog

Leave a Reply

