Friends Indeed

Lately I’ve been pondering what constitutes a true friendship- and for that matter- a true friend. Being the thinker that I am, I find myself continuously evaluating and re-evaluating my relationships. As I’ve said before, I have been blessed with a great family and many great friends. So at times it’s easy for me to assume that everyone I meet has my best interest in mind. Unfortunately, as we all know, that is not the case.
As I make new friends and begin new relationships, it is important to me to accurately assess their true value. I’ve had some great examples of what true friendship is.
My dad is a great friend to have and a wonderful finder of great friends. I grew up knowing that there was always a whole group of my dad’s friends that were there for us and would help us when we needed it- come what may. The reverse was also true. There were many nights that my dad was late coming home because he had to stop by and help a friend in need. There were a few times when friends of the family were down on their luck and stayed at our house until they were able to get back on their feet. The friends that my dad has, I consider my friends. I call many of them “uncle” although by family they’re not. These relationships have always been there to show me the “give and take” that goes into true friendship.
Both of my parents always made our home a haven when I was growing up. They had five children within 10 years and our house was always a place where we could go to just hang out with a big group of people. Our friends were as diverse as diverse can be and my parents didn’t make any of them feel judged or uncomfortable for being unique. Hippies, skaters, straight edgers, goths, punks, cowgirls/boys, jocks, and more – of all IQ’s, shapes, and colors came and went from our house. Almost every friend I had, at on point or another, commented on how much they liked our home or my parents. I credit my parents with teaching me to take a little bit of home with me wherever I go.
I had one friend who I could talk to, no matter what, about anything. We talked in depth about subjects that I had never spoken of before. We were able to understand each other so well, while still having differing opinions and beliefs. We came to many profound conclusions from just talking. I learned so much through our conversations alone. I truly respected this friend, because I knew that no matter what, he’d give me his honest opinion and feed back. Sometimes I didn’t like what I heard, but I knew it was the truth as he saw it- respect and trust.
I have at least two friends who have been through it all with me, from the time we got our drivers licenses to now, we’ve always stayed in contact. Each of our lives have wandered over many paths, but no matter our differences, our friendship remains. I know that the bonds we share won’t be broken, and we’ll remain loyal friends forever- just like the bonds created by family.
Looking back on all of this brings me to the realization that I have a great foundation to build on. My friends and family set the landmark high, and although I don’t find a true friend every day, I do find friends that meet those standards often enough. The circle keeps expanding. I’m happy to live in a world that still has so much good in it. There are people who give, receive graciously, respect, love, and trust; There are people who are honest and loyal. These are my friends. If you looked only at the headlines in the news you would never guess it, but there are a lot of great people out there. So, here’s to true friends everywhere. You make our world a better place.
4 thoughts on “Friends Indeed

  1. It’s there if you allow yourself to look for it. It takes a risk that unfortunately some people never take. No risk no gain especially involving people. Thought provoking post.

  2. I believe that true friends will never blow smoke up your ass and tell you what you want to hear. I think a true friend will look out for your best interests by telling you the truth, whether you like hearing it or not. It’s awesome that you are so close with your family and that you got along with so many different cliques.

  3. It was great to read this! I have always thought exactly what you have said about your family, and the friends that you have. Trevor and I have talked many times about the love and respect that your parents have shown all types of your friends. We have vowed to be just like them actually! You do have an amazing family and some really wonderful friends! You really are blessed! As are we, the ones that are blessed to have a friend like you!

  4. I actually don’t make friends very easily. Being painfully shy doesn’t pay. The friends I do have, are good friends, for the most part. I have one friend who will give it to me strait, no matter what’s going on and I love and respect her more than anyone else. For me, that’s enough. On another note, your dad sounds just like my dad. My dad has so many friends, he seems to know everyone, and he’s always willing to help others in need. My dad is a good friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

