To Thine Own Self Be True…

It’s so easy to get caught up in life, to get caught up in the way things are “supposed” to be. I really have to keep myself aware of my surroundings and interactions to be true to what I want, need and know. One good thing I’ve learned about myself is that I’m a people pleaser. I always want everyone to be happy, even if it means sacrificing my own happiness. Having realized this, I try to remember not to sacrifice my happiness. When I’m happy, I’m able to make others more happy. So, in a way, it’s good to be selfish. I have to constantly remind myself to just be true to me- and everything else will turn out. Just gotta keep it real. Right?
9 thoughts on “To Thine Own Self Be True…

  1. Well you just like me, wanting everyone that I care and love to be happy but sometimes I have to sacrifice or be sad. Anyway, it’s just me. Maybe someday happiness will be on my side. Sigh..Syaf The Geek

  2. Is it wrong if I don’t wanna be friends with a girl that I like who already had a boyfriend? Coz I don’t wanna hang around like a fool waiting for her to accept me. It’s just me. Don’t wanna waste my time.

  3. Ya you’re right. Be true to yourself. Staying present in the moment is important. But you have to plan for the future too, or you will just tossed about by anything that comes along. Right? Or am I wrong. I think, do in the moment that you will not regret tomorrow. I think, live with no regrets and also, live and let live.

  4. Yeah Syaf… stay away, be true to you. Oops said it nicely. Be true to yourself in every moment keeping the future in mind.

  5. Hmmm… Frankly WW, I’ve had enough of ‘myself’ and am hoping to be married in a year or so. I’ve been divorced since 1998 and am sick of the single life. My girlfriend and I are in total agreement on this, and us both being 46 years young causes us to feel like it’s time to stop the dating garbage and get real.The ‘big five-o-‘ is looming large and we want to settle down!

  6. I agree with you completely, and so would Ayn Rand! She wrote a book called The Virtue of Selfishness that you would probably enjoy. 🙂 Strangely, I tend to be a people pleaser too, which is very unusual considering I am a serious pessimist. The people in my life are important to me and making them happy is very important. I can identify.

  7. John, I’m happy for you (and your woman) As the good book says, “there’s a time for every purpose under heaven.”

  8. I spent 23 years of my life with the same lady, I was seventeen when I met her. Everything I did in life was about her. If it made her happy, it made me happy. She decided to take up and leave about a year ago. I lost everything I had. Just to make her happy. And the bad thing is, I still do things just to make her happy. That is who I am. At 40 I am starting my life over again. But to my own self shall I be true this time.

  9. Totally agree with u, Wonder Woman. Be true to yourself, cause life is short. It’s wrong to waste it on lies to yourself. That’s the point I guess.People pleaser… it means u’re the real woman, Dear, cause sacrifice and the desire to make people happier are, say, rooted in our female’s nature. Just my opinion. Keep going, Woman!

Leave a Reply

