A Day With the Races

I don’t know exactly how to put this, but I’d like to find out what other people feel about racism these days- racism against any race for any reason.
Recently, I’ve experienced racism against me. Which has been somewhat of an eye opening experience. I’ve thought a lot about this subject in recent years, because I’m attracted to men from different racial backgrounds from my own. Some interracial couples have said that if they had to go back and do it over again, they wouldn’t have had children because of the racism they receive from both races. In other words, those innocent children are judged by their color and are not accepted socially anywhere.
Obviously, there are still a lot of racist people out there. There are racists of all races, and it makes me sick. I understand all of the horrors people have put other people through. World history is full of hostile takeovers, wars, and slavery.
Can’t we just live for today, live for the future, and stop dwelling on a past that can’t be changed? I have no tolerance for one race placing themselves over another race- one race saying “Hey, I’m better than your race.” But it’s prevelent. I see it nearly everywhere I turn.
One of my favorite sayings is this: “The world was not given to us by our parents. It was loaned to us by our children.”
This world does not belong to us, it doesn’t belong to our parents either. This life is our opportunity to make the world better for future generations- despite the past and despite our imperfections. We can make life and the world what we want it to be.
I feel strongly about this. This is something we can change, this is something we can stop right now. I know, that in my family racism was stopped with my parents’ generation and in some cases the generation before them. Your heritage and culture have a great deal to do with who you are and who you become. It’s not the color of a person’s skin that dictates a personality or intelligence, it’s the way they choose to live their lives. We are affected by how those who lived before us have chosen to live their lives. In the long run though, my life and what I do with it is my choice. It’s up to me… and it’s up to you.
Leave a Reply

