Without Resolution

Although it may seem cliche, my New Year’s resolution was to not make a resolution, because… who the hell follows through with their New Year’s resolutions anyway?
I prefer to continue plugging along with my current goals, because, at least I know I’m better off now that I was at this time last year. You know? And this is working for me.
The new year is a great thing, and it’s wonderful to think that I’m starting out with a clean slate… but really, I’m not- and to say I am would be a lie. Life is cumulative. You grow and progress over time, and if right now I had a clean slate, then so much of my life would be forgotten. Valuable lessons gone with the start of something new. I’d much rather have my slate covered in long division and important notes that I don’t want to forget. I’d rather remember those huge events that have helped me develop into the person I am today. Maybe with the new year, I’ll get a new slate, but keep the one’s from years past, so that I can remember all of those things that I’ve learned and are dear to my soul.
I love my family and I love my friends. I thank all of you for the guidance, support and love you have shown to me over the years. May you fill my slate again this year with things I’ll never want to erase. With any luck, I’ll do the same for you.
Leave a Reply

