True Story Part 7

I don’t know if this back ground has brought any more meaning to the beginning of my story for you, but writing it has helped me to realize a few things. I know now that there are parts of this story that I had completely blocked out of my mind, and that I have a tendency to down play stressful situations in my life. I’m still a little fearful, even now, a few years after everything happened, and I still get physically sick when I really think about the craziness of it all.
Frank followed me to work on Saturday, and I knew at that point that I didn’t want to be near him at all. I called my boyfriend, my parents, and my brothers and I moved out of the apartment that same night after work. Frank was in my face accusing me, trying to manipulate me, and threatening me the whole time I was there packing up. He was right back to accusing me of being in a lesbian relationship with Dristi and he threatened to tell my religious leaders that I’d stolen his wife. I didn’t put up with any of his accusations and demanded that he leave. I had to tell him more than once and I definitely had to raise my voice. If he had pushed me any further, I would have called the police. Moving out was undeniably the right move for me. Luckily I was gone in one trip. The thing that freaked me out the most, was that he wasn’t afraid to get up in my face with four guys right there helping me to move out.
Although I had moved out, Frank continued to follow me on a daily basis.
I worked for a company run by my church, and he most often would follow me there. One day he actually came in. By now it was no surprise that he had the nerve to threaten me right there at work. He told me he wanted to talk to me, and when I told him no and that we had nothing to discuss, he told me I’d be sorry. I avoided him, but I knew he was up to something. He didn’t ask me to speak with my superiors of course, he asked someone else, and in a meeting with my bosses, he voiced his accusations against me. I wasn’t in the meeting so, I don’t know the details of what he said. My superiors didn’t believe a word that came out of his mouth. They didn’t even bring the meeting up with me. They knew that I knew what Frank was doing, and they wouldn’t validate him by making it an issue. Defamation of character is the phrase that comes to my mind. It was clear that Frank was working his hardest to make me look like something that I wasn’t.
Leave a Reply

