Procrastination

“Procrastination isn’t the problem, it’s the solution. So procrastinate now, don’t put it off.”
~Ellen DeGeneres
I have to admit, sometimes I heed Ellen’s Advice. Okay, well, a LOT of the time I procrastinate, and it’s funny, I never put it off!
So, I was really feeling down on myself a few days ago. I was thinking of everything I could be doing better and exactly what I’m always doing wrong. I was just a little depressed and I really was feeling bad about procrastinating. I’m somewhat of a perfectionist at times, and it seems so much easier to just not do something that I anticipate being difficult or “imperfect,” rather than doing it and getting it over with. This can apply to everything. I get stressed about paying a bill so, I’ll go out to dinner or out shopping, so that I don’t have to deal with it. At work I’ll have a simple project that I need to finish, but it’s become monotonous, so I start another more complicated project so that I won’t be so bored. So, really I occupy myself with other things, to procrastinate the mostly simple things that I really should do. Then my life is full of partially started projects and I’m more busy than ever. I’m not ALWAYS like this, but I procrastinate enough, that it affects my life for the worse. So, while beating myself up about all of the things I put off, I prayed, and just after I prayed these words came into my mind:
“Never put off till tomorrow what you can do today”
~Thomas Jefferson
The Thomas Jefferson part didn’t come into my mind- I had to look that up. But the point is, I was comforted by these words that someone said so long ago. When I really think about it , it’s comforting to know that there have been people in the past, and there are people now, who have thought about the same things I think about. I take comfort in the wisdom of Thomas Jefferson, a great man who overcame many challenges, and helped to shape The United States of America into the wonderful country that it is today. I often refer to our relationships as people, and how each choice made affects ourselves and many others for bad or good. These connections are what makes my life real. I’m able to better myself because of someone who has gone before me. I am striving now to: Never put off till tomorrow what can be done today. My life is better for it.
One thought on “Procrastination

Leave a Reply

