Home is Where You Make It


Old Cajun Man: [In a muffled back water accent] Home is where you make it.
Joe Dirt: What?
Old Cajun Man: Home is where you make it.
Joe Dirt: You like to see homos naked?
Old Cajun man: Home is where you make it.
Joe Dirt: Oh. [Walks away]
Joe Dirt: Guy likes to see homos naked, that doesn’t help me .
Okay, this isn’t about seeing homos naked, if that’s what you think. I just think that is one of the most hilarious quotes from Joe Dirt and it fits- it just fits.
Sometimes I get this feeling of serenity and comfort. It’s just the feeling of home, and I don’t even have to be at home to feel it! There are a few different instances throughout daily life that make me feel this way, and I take it as a sign that I’m in the right place, doing the right thing. When I’m out and about and I feel connected with a person that I’ve just met, when there’s an unspoken understanding and you know- you just know. Sometimes while listening to a song, I feel it and I have a deeper understanding of life and someone else’s views. I’ve felt it before a rainstorm on a cloudy day. I’ve felt it while wearing a hoodie and all comfy sitting at my desk at work. When I’m with friends that have been there for me through thick and thin, and I’ve done the same for them, there’s that same comfort. I’ve felt it while outside enjoying the sun and reading a book.
I really think that these experiences have affected me so much, that I try to foster that feeling of home in everything that I do. I want to share it with those around me and help them to be at ease. I enjoy my time at home too. I want it to be as welcoming as possible, but when I can, I try to take home with me.
6 thoughts on “Home is Where You Make It

  1. I have felt that feeling too. To be honest I haven’t felt it for a long time. It is wonderful and sometimes very fleeting. I wish you homey feelings always.

  2. How insiteful. That is so nicely put! Thank you for helping me remember those feelings and what makes me feel that way!As always you are awesome!

Leave a Reply

